Skip to content
AnalystLens
Back to NSCIncome Statement

NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP Non-operating Income/Expense 2007-2026 | NSC

Annual FY2007–FY2025 · quarterly through Q2 FY2026

Latest annual · FY2025

$101.0M

+55.4%YoY vs FY2024Source: 10-KFY2025

From $93.0M in FY2007 to $101.0M in FY2025: 1.1× in 18 years.

By quarter▲▼ vs a year before
Fiscal yearQ1Q2Q3Q4
FY26$35M+12.9%$32M+33.3%Not reportedNot reported
FY25$31M+72.2%$24M+41.2%$23M−32.4%$23M+675.0%
FY24$18M−67.9%$17M−70.2%$34M−15.0%−$4M−110.5%
FY23$56M+1220.0%$57M+507.1%$40M+2100.0%$38M+11.8%
FY22−$5M−171.4%−$14M−140.0%−$2M−114.3%$34M+61.9%
Share25%30%22%23%

Shaded by size: darkest is the largest quarter shown; ringed is the latest reported; a dash marks a quarter with no separate figure. Each quarter sits by its period-end date. Share: its typical part of the fiscal year.

Key Statistics

Trend DirectionStable
CAGR

−8.0%

FY2020
$153.0M
FY2025
$101.0M

5 years selected · on the chart

Non-operating Income/Expense History

Year-over-year comparison from 10-K annual reports

  1. $101.0M
YoY changeLargest recent move+1369.2%in FY23Latest +55.4%

1 older move runs past ±150% (largest +1369.2%); point at, tap or drag across the bars to read one.

Non-operating Income/Expense, period by period

PeriodValueChangeSource
FY2025$101.0M+55.4%10-K
FY2024$65.0M−66.0%10-K
FY2023$191.0M+1369.2%10-K
FY2022$13.0M−83.1%10-K
FY2021$77.0M−49.7%10-K
FY2020$153.0M+44.3%10-K
FY2019$106.0M+58.2%10-K
FY2018$67.0M−57.1%10-K
FY2017$156.0M+14.7%10-K
FY2016$136.0M+32.0%10-K
FY2015$103.0M−1.0%10-K
FY2014$104.0M−55.4%10-K
FY2013$233.0M+80.6%10-K
FY2012$129.0M−19.4%10-K
FY2011$160.0M+4.6%10-K
FY2010$153.0M+20.5%10-K
FY2009$127.0M+15.5%10-K
FY2008$110.0M+18.3%10-K
FY2007$93.0M—10-K

What is NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP's current non-operating income/expense?

NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP (NSC) annual non-operating income/expense for 2025 was $101.0M, a 55.38% increase from 2024. NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP non-operating income/expense for the quarter ending June 30, 2026 was $32.0M.

What was NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP's non-operating income/expense in 2024?

NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP annual non-operating income/expense for 2024 was $65.0M, a 65.97% decline from 2023.

What was NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP's non-operating income/expense in 2023?

NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP annual non-operating income/expense for 2023 was $191.0M, a 1369.23% increase from 2022.

What is NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP's 5-year non-operating income/expense CAGR?

NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP non-operating income/expense grew at a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 7.97% from FY2020 to FY2025, going from $153.0M to $101.0M over 5 years.

Company
NORFOLK SOUTHERN CORP
Ticker
NSC
Sector
Other
Industry
Railroads, Line-Haul Operating